Home Cricket News IPL 2022 Auction To Take Place On February 12 And 13; Bangalore...

IPL 2022 Auction To Take Place On February 12 And 13; Bangalore To Host The Big Day

IPL franchises IPL 2022 auction
Photo Credit: (IPL)

The much-anticipated IPL 2022 auction will take place on February 12 and 13 in Bangalore a report in Cricbuzz has confirmed. However, there has been no official communication from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).

The report also adds that the BCCI has called up all the franchises to convey the finalised dates on December 23 (Thursday). The BCCI officials also insisted that the schedule is final despite a clash with an international game – an ODI between India and West Indies. The board assured the franchise that the match will have no bearing on the auction proceedings and both will go ahead as planned.

“It has been clarified to us that the match and auction are two different things and both will go ahead,” a franchise official told Cricbuzz after obtaining clarification from the BCCI.

The BCCI has written to International boards and state associations recently to send in the names of the players to be enrolled for the auction by January 17. The mega event, being held for 10 teams this year, will have more than 1000 players with as many as between 200 to 250 expected to go under the hammer.

8 franchises have announced their list of retentions for IPL 2022

Indian Premier League (IPL) side Royal Challengers Bangalore retained the services of Indian batsmanĀ Virat Kohli for the 2022 season while current champions Chennai Super Kings kept faith on their 41-year-old captain MS Dhoni.

Along with Kohli, RCB have retained Mohammed Siraj and Glenn Maxwell for IPL 2022. On the other hand, CSK have bestowed their hopes on all-rounders Ravindra Jadeja and Moeen Ali along with young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad.

Meanwhile, Delhi Capitals have retained captain Rishabh Pant, opener Prithvi Shaw, all-rounder Axar Patel, and pacer Anrich Nortje. Rajasthan Royals have only retained their captain Sanju Samson, Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler while Sunrisers Hyderabad have shown trust in their captain Kane Williamson. Along with Kane, the franchises have retained two young talents in Umran Malik and Abdul Samad.

Punjab Kings, on the other hand, have retained Mayank Agarwal and Arshdeep Singh. Five-time IPL champions Mumbai Indians had to make some tough calls and leave out the Pandya brothers and young wicket-keeper batsman Ishan Kishan.

Kolkata Knight Riders have retained the West Indies duo of Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, Varun Chakravarthy, and young all-rounder Venkatesh Iyer.

Get the latestĀ cricket newsĀ here and like us onĀ Facebook, and follow us onĀ TwitterĀ andĀ InstagramĀ for more such updates.