Cricket News

Lanka Premier League 2020: Full Schedule Announced

After difficult six-seven months owing to the outbreak of the COVID-19 pandemic, cricket has finally started across the globe. Although it is still played behind closed doors, the game is enough to bring joy to millions and millions of fans. And a brand new Lanka Premier League is all set to hit the floor hard in Sri Lanka starting in November.

Colombo Kings and Galle Gladiators will play the tournament opener. The match will take place at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Hambantota on the 21st of November. The Pallekele International Cricket Stadium would stage the two semi-finals and the tournament-decider in Kandy.

IPL 2020: Full Schedule Announced

The tournament will see some of the biggest names – Andre Russell, Faf Du Plessis, Chris Gayle, Shahid Afridi, Colin Ingram, Hazratullah Zazai, Lasith Malinga, and Mohammad Amir ply their trade in the Lanka Premier League. Two Indian cricketers namely Manvinder Bisla and Manpreet Gony also earned deals.

Sri Lanka Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa revealed that Lanka Premier League was always in their plan in the wake of IPL’s success.

Following the success of Indian Premier League (IPL), the possibility of holding such a tournament in Sri Lanka was much talked about for many years but unfortunately, it didn’t happen. But now, the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) and the Ministry of Youth and Sports have been in discussions for weeks to make this tournament a reality as it is essential for the future of Sri Lankan cricket,” Rajapaksa stated as quoted by ANI News.

Also Read: Ishant Sharma And Bhuvneshwar Likely To Miss India’s Tour of Australia

Full Schedule of Lanka Premier League (LPL) 2020: (All timings as per local)

November 21: Colombo v Galle (7.30pm)

November 22: Kandy v Jaffna (3pm); Colombo v Dambulla (7.30pm)

November 23: Colombo v Galle (3pm); Dambulla v Jaffna (7.30pm)

November 25: Galle v Dambula (3pm); Colombo v Kandy (7.30pm)

November 26: Kandy v Jaffna (3pm); Dambulla v Colombo (7.30pm)

November 28: Jaffna v Colombo (3pm); Kandy v Galle (7.30pm)

December 2: Kandy v Dambulla (3pm); Jaffna v Galle (7.30pm)

December 3: Dambulla v Galle (3pm); Kandy v Colombo (7.30pm)

December 5: Jaffna v Colombo (3pm); Galle v Kandy (7.30pm)

December 6: Dambulla v Jaffna (7.30pm)

December 9: Dambulla v Kandy (3pm); Galle v Jaffna (7.30pm)

December 10: Semi-final 1 (7.30pm)

December 11: Semi-final 2 (7.30pm)

December 13: Final (7.30pm – reserve day December 14)

Ankush Das

I am an accountant by qualification, my parents thought their obedient son would study further to become a CA, but I had other things in mind. An ardent Cricket fan is following his passion and making a living watching and working around his favourite sport.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker