A questionable stumping by a wicket-keeper Lewis McManus became the biggest talking point during the match between Leicestershire and Hampshire in the County Championship. While everyone is busy with the IPL during a county match Hampshire pilled on the runs against Leicestershire in the match and was comfortably placed on 5 for 612 in their first innings. The star batsmen of the innings were James Vince who scored a sublime double century and Liam Dawson who scored a brilliant 150.
Huge stumping error from Lewis McManus in the county championship
Hampshire was completely bossing the match after they enforced the follow-on after having knocked over Leicestershire for just 202. In the second innings, Leicestershire was 1 for 59 with Hassan Azad and Harry Dearden at the crease. The controversial stumping of Lewis McManus came in the 25th over when the wicket-keeper appealed for a stumping after Dawson beat the outside edge of Azad’s bat.
The square leg umpire immediately signalled it out but the replays suggested that he made a big error as the ball was in the other hand of McManus when he removed the bails. Initially McManus thought the batsman was caught behind and started running when he suddenly realised the ball might have missed the bat and executed stumping with his right hand. In a bizarre scene, the ball was in his left hand and the stumping shouldn’t have been awarded but surprisingly McManus did not strive to tell the umpires of his error.
Watch The Video
— Wisden (@WisdenCricket) April 10, 2021
According to Law 18.104.22.168: “The wicket is put down if a bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps … by a fielder with his/her hand or arm, providing that the ball is held in the hand or hands so used, or in the hand of the arm so used“
Meanwhile, after the huge blunder of wicket-keeper Lewis McManus, all the county championship fans from England were extremely annoyed on Twitter. They even criticized the on-field umpires who didn’t even change the decision after the error. Leicestershire coach Paul Nixon affirmed that the management has contacted the match-officials about the incident.
“We have expressed our very strong views on this shocking incident to the match referee, and we trust that an extremely strong stance will be taken to keep the integrity of our game,” Paul Nixon told Wisden.com.