Home Cricket News MS Dhoni All Set To Make His 200th Appearance In IPL

MS Dhoni All Set To Make His 200th Appearance In IPL

MS Dhoni All Set To Make His 200th Appearance in IPL
MS Dhoni. (Photo Credit: IPL)

MS Dhoni, skipper of Chennai Super Kings is all set to make his 200th appearance in the IPL. He will be the first player to get to this landmark as CSK plays Rajasthan Royals tonight in Abu Dhabi. Dhoni has played for two IPL franchises till date.

He has played 169 games for CSK, while 30 for Rising Pune Supergiant between 2016-2017. He took RPS to the 2017 IPL final as well, eventually losing to Mumbai Indians. Suresh Raina (193), Virat Kohli (186) Rohit Sharma (197) and Dinesh Karthik (191) are the other players with most IPL caps in their career.

Meanwhile, CSK are in the middle of their worst IPL season under MD Dhoni in this season so far. They have lost six out of nine games they have played so far. They are in a must-win situation in the remaining five games to go in the league stage. Dhoni is also having his worst year with the bat for CSK. He has scored only 136 runs in nine games and eight innings. His average is 27.20 and his strike rate reads under 135.

Also Read: Watch – Umpire Paul Reiffel Changes Decision After MS Dhoni’s Reaction

Indifferent Season For MS Dhoni & CSK

His tactical decisions as captain has also been questioned in the games that CSK has lost so far. Their most recent loss was against Delhi Capitals when Ravindra Jadeja went for 18 in the final over. Axar Patel took a special liking to him smacking him for three sixes to win the game for Delhi.

Dhoni has also found himself in the middle of an unwanted controversy in the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad. On-field umpire Paul Reiffel changes his decision after Dhoni showed his anger on the field. Unfortunately, Dhoni was heavily criticised for his actions in the game.

However, all is not over with MS Dhoni and CSK. If they win their last five games in the league stage. they can surely make it to the final four of IPL 2020.

Also Read: 5 Times MS Dhoni Went Against Umpires in IPL