Home Cricket News IPL 2020: N Srinivasan Names One Player Who Can Replace Suresh Raina

IPL 2020: N Srinivasan Names One Player Who Can Replace Suresh Raina

N Srinivasan Names Player Replace Raina

A few days back Chennai Super Kings (CSK) suffered a significant blow ahead of the IPL 2020 season. Veteran CSK batsman Suresh Raina opted to pull out of the upcoming IPL season owing to personal reasons. This has left a huge void in the CSK squad as the franchise is now viewing for a replacement for Raina.

Popularly known as “MR. IPL”, Raina was part of the CSK preliminary camp in Chennai and landed in Dubai along with his entire squad on August 21. The second-highest run-scorer in IPL history shocked everyone when he decided to fly back to India and drew out of the much anticipated IPL season.

Ruturaj Gaikwad can replace Suresh Raina – N Srinivasan

With IPL just three weeks away it seemed CSK will look for a player that unsold in the IPL auction as he replacement for Raina. However now it seems the 3-time IPL champions are not contemplating exploring many options ahead of IPL 2020.

The franchise owner and former BCCI president N. Srinivasan has indicated at the player who can substitute Raina in the IPL this year. While speaking to Outlook, Srinivasan revealed that Raina’s absence will prove to be a great opportunity for Ruturaj Gaikwad. The 23-year-old is likely to take place of Raina this year in the IPL. While Srinivasan also added that Gaikwad has the potential to become of a star for CSK in IPL 2020. 

Ruturaj Gaikwad can replace Suresh Raina this year says, N. Srinivasan.

“He is an outstanding batsman and will get a chance now. Ruturaj can become the star of the show, who knows?” said Srinivasan.

Unfortunately, the Maharasthra batsman tested COVID-19 positive last week. He is currently in self-isolation away from the CSK side with pacer Deepak Chahar. Due to his impressive performances in domestic cricket, Gaikwad was bought by CSK at a base price of Rs. 20 lakhs in the IPL auction.

Moreover, in In 2018/19 season, he was the leading run-getter for his state side Maharashtra in Vijay Hazare Trophy too, with 365 runs in eight innings at 45.62 and a strike rate of 90. Also, he concluded the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy as the second-highest run-scorer, slamming 419 runs at an average of nearly 42 and a strike-rate of over 146.