Home Cricket News Sanjay Manjrekar Included In The Commentary Team For India’s Tour of Australia

Sanjay Manjrekar Included In The Commentary Team For India’s Tour of Australia

Sanjay Manjrekar commentary
Manjrekar was snubbed from BCCI's commentary team for IPL 2020. (Photo BCCI)

Former Indian batsmen Sanjay Manjrekar is all set to return to commentary after being snubbed for IPL 2020. According to reports in Mumbai Mirror, the former Indian batsman will be a part of BCCI‘s commentary team for India’s Tour of Australia.

Earlier this year in March, the former cricketer-turned-commentator was sacked by the BCCI from its commentary panel, before the start of the home series against South Africa which was eventually cancelled due to COVID-19.

Sanjay Manjrekar to Return to Commentary

He was then not a part of the commentary panel in the IPL. Sanjay Manjrekar on his part wrote to the BCCI to include him, which the BCCI did not accept. The Mumbai Mirror report claimed that Sony Pictures network roped him in as one of the experts including Sunil Gavaskar and Harsha Bhogle. Michael Clarke, Glenn McGrath and Andrew Symonds also have been enrolled. Former Indian batsman Virender Sehwag has been included in the Hindi commentary team.

Also Read: Watch: Manish Pandey gives back after Virat Kohli tried to sledge him

The Indian team will leave for Australia after the IPL final on November 10. They will leave on November 12. The series will start with the three-match ODI series, followed by the three-match T20I series. It will end with the four-match Test series which will be a part of the World Test Championship.

Meanwhile, the Indian team under Virat Kohli won the Border-Gavaskar trophy in 2019 and are the current holders. Kohli became the first Indian captain to win a Test series on Australian soil.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Moves Into Team India Bubble After IPL 2020 Exit, Before Australia Tour

India’s Tour of Australia complete schedule:

1st ODI: November 27 — SCG

2nd ODI: November 29 — SCG

3rd ODI: December 1 — Manuka Oval

1st T20I: December 4 — Manuka Oval

2nd T20I: December 6 — SCG

3rd T20I: December 8 — SCG

1st Test: December 17-21 — Adelaide Oval

2nd Test: December 26-31 — MCG

3rd Test: January 7- 11 — SCG

4th Test: January 15-19 — Brisbane

Also Read: Wasim Akram Picks The Winner From India’s Tour Of Australia