Cricket News

South Africa Announce Squad For Pakistan Series, Two Debutants Included

This will be South Africa's first series in Pakistan in 14 years.

South Africa has announced a 21-member Test squad for their upcoming Test and T20I series against Pakistan. The series will be played in Pakistan in an attempt to bring back international cricket in the country. The big name that is missing from the squad is that of Kagiso Rabada because of a groin strain. This will be South Africa’s first series in Pakistan in 14 years.

South Africa will travel to Pakistan in January-February next year for two Tests and three T20Is, marking the side’s first appearance in the country since their Test series on the 2007 visit. The first Test begins from January 26 at the national stadium in Karachi.

The second of the two-Test series, part of the ICC Test Championship, will start on February 4 at Rawalpindi and will subsequently be followed by South Africa’s first-ever T20I series in Pakistan, which will see all the three games played at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

South Africa Delighted To Play in Pakistan: CSA Director Graeme Smith

“It’s pleasing to see so many countries making a return to Pakistan – a proud, cricket-loving nation. Cricket South Africa is delighted to be counted among them. As someone who has toured the country on more than one occasion back in my playing days, I know how much passion the people of Pakistan have for the game as well as the love and support that the Proteas enjoy there as a team” CSA Director of Cricket, Graeme Smith said.

Also Read: South Africa To Tour Pakistan After 14 Years, Complete Schedule Announced

Meanwhile, Pakistan has been deprived of international cricket in the past decade and a half as no cricketing nation has shown interest in touring the nation due to security reasons. Majorly domestic and franchise cricket leagues have been played in this period.

The South African squad will be travelling next Friday in chartered flights and will be on mandatory quarantine after reaching the country for two weeks before the series begins from January 26.

South Africa squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Ottniel Baartman

Tour Schedule

January 26-30: 1st Test, Karachi
February 4-8: 2nd Test, Rawalpindi

1st T20I, Lahore February 11
2nd T20I, Lahore February 13
3rd T20I, Lahore February 14


Also Read: Three South African Cricketers Sent For Isolation After One Tests COVID Positive


Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :