WAGS And Kids To Travel With Cricketers For Australia Tour – Reports

Virat Kohli & Anushka Sharma (Credit: Getty Images)

The Indian cricketers will travel to Australia for a two-month long tour soon after the Indian Premier League (IPL) ends. As the players embark on a new journey, there were speculations whether the cricketers will travel with their families amid the COVID-19 pandemic. Reports suggest that BCCI has worked out a plan with Cricket Australia for the same.

Meanwhile, given the restrictions, mandatory isolation period and other reasons, the BCCI wasn’t confident of allowing the players to travel with their family members.  It’s a big logical issue for any board to create the bio-bubble environment for the jumbo squad, coaching staff and their family members.

India to play 3 ODIs and T20Is followed by 4 Tests

But the report in Indian Express adds that the BCCI gave a green signal after senior players requested the board. It is to be noted that the BCCI had left it to the IPL franchises to take a call on whether the family members can travel to UAE or not.

Also Read: India Tour Of Australia 2020: 3 Deserving Players Who Missed Out From Limited-Overs Squad

While Chennai Super Kings didn’t allow family members to travel with the team, defending champions Mumbai Indians gave a green signal to the WAGS. On the other hand, Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli was accompanied by his wife Anushka Sharma. Kohli didn’t travel to Bengaluru and instead boarded a chartered plane to Dubai from Mumbai.

The players and family members will fly to Australia soon after the completion of IPL 2020. They will stay in isolation for 14 days. After one week, the players will be allowed to train. As has been the case in UAE, they might also undergo rounds of testing during the isolation period.

The white-ball players will return to India after the first leg of the tour. The Test players are travelling to Australia right from day 1 and will stay there for over 75 days.

Also Read: Tom Moody Backs KL Rahul To Score Runs In The Test Series Against Australia

The three ODIs will commence from November 27 while the four-match Test series will take place from December 17 to January 19.