Home Cricket News WTC Final: Ajit Agarkar Picks India’s Playing XI For The Title Clash

WTC Final: Ajit Agarkar Picks India’s Playing XI For The Title Clash

Ajit Agarkar Team India Kartik Tyagi
Ajit Agarkar

Ajit Agarkar, the former cricketer, has picked Team India’s playing XI for the upcoming ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand. The Ageas Bowl in Southampton will host the marquee clash starting June 18 (Friday).

Starting with the opening pair, the former all-rounder picked Rohit Sharma and Mayank Agarwal. While Rohit is a confirmed selection for the opening slot, there is confusion regarding who should partner Rohit between Shubman Gill and Mayank Agarwal.

For Number three, Ajit Agarkar picked veteran Chetshewar Pujara followed by skipper Virat Kohli, vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane and young wicketkeeper-batsman Rishabh Pant. All eyes will be on Pant, who has been in swashbuckling form with the bat in recent times. His stock touched sky high after he guided India to a brilliant win against Australia earlier this year.

Shubman Gill Virat Kohli
Photo by Prashant Bhoot / SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Ajit Agarkar picks two spinners for WTC final

Ajit Agarkar also faced a lot of dilemmas while picking the bowling attack much like others. The spectrum has been divided with one section backing India to play two spinners while others have backed Kohli & Co to play an extra batter.

However, Ajit Agarkar decided to go ahead with the tried and tested combination of three speedsters and two spinners. Ravindra Jadeja ad Ravichandran Ashwin are two spin all-rounders who made it to Ajit’s playing XI. Notably, both Jadeja and Ashwin are capable of playing a match-defining role as batsmen too.

While for the pace bowlers, the 43-year-old picked three experienced seamers including the likes of Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah.

Ajit Agarkar’s India’s Playing XI for the WTC Final: Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant (WK), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah.