Home Cricket News CSK Can Still Qualify For IPL 2020 Playoffs – Here’s How

CSK Can Still Qualify For IPL 2020 Playoffs – Here’s How

CSK Can Still Qualify For IPL 2020 Playoffs – Here’s How
MS Dhoni (Photo Credit: IPL)

Chennai Super Kings was thrashed by Mumbai Indians in their latest defeat in IPL 2020. This was CSK’s eighth defeat in this IPL season, the most by any team so far. CSK have had a forgetful campaign with hardly any positives drawn this season.

The weakness of an ageing side was exposed match after match by various teams and the team in yellow have had no answer to them. With three matches to go in the tournament, CSK still find themselves in with a chance to qualify for the playoffs. Here’s how?

Also Read: MS Dhoni Slammed For His ‘Lack of Spark Comment’

CSK’s IPL 2020 Playoffs Qualification Equations

1) CSK is placed last on the points table with six points so far. They will have to win all their remaining matches with big margins to give themselves a chance to make it to the playoffs. Their NRR is -0.733, which is the worst in the tournament. One more defeat will end their hopes of playoffs qualification this season.

Also Read: Upcoming Games Will Be Preparation For Youngsters Ahead Of Next IPL – MS Dhoni

2) CSK will need help from other teams as well to go through to the playoffs. They will hope that KKR win two of their four games, best they win one. Kolkata Knight Riders are on 10 points and two more wins will take them through to the playoffs with the net run-rate equation coming into play. Meanwhile, CSK can register a maximum of six wins now.

3) CSK’s fortunes will also depend on how KXIP, SRH and RR play their remaining matches. If either of the teams win two games out of their remaining matches, Chennai Super Kings will be automatically disqualified from the playoff race. Punjab, Rajasthan and Hyderabad all have six points, while Chennai six. Wins for the other three teams will help them widen the points gap from CSK and hence better their qualification chances.

If the Super Kings eventually fail to make the playoffs, this will be the first IPL season where they will not make it to the final four. Previously they have won three titles and have played eight IPL finals.

Also Read: MS Dhoni, Suresh Raina And Yuvraj Singh On BBL Radar 


Latest Posts