Home Cricket News Sanjay Manjrekar Picks His Playing XI For Sri Lanka T20Is

Sanjay Manjrekar Picks His Playing XI For Sri Lanka T20Is

Sanjay Manjrekar
Sanjay Manjrekar

After former cricketers Aakash Chopra and Deep Dasgupta, Sanjay Manjrakar has picked his Indian playing XI for the T20I series against Sri Lanka. The Men in Blue will be playing three ODIs and as many T20Is in the island nation. The series previously comprised of three ODIs and five T20Is but was revised later on. As per SLC’s proposed itinerary to the BCCI, accessed by ESPNcricinfo, the series will commence with the ODIs on July 13, 16, 19 followed by T20I series on July 22, 24, 27. The venues are yet to be finalised.

Meanwhile, Sanjay Manjrekar has predicted his Indian playing XI for the three-match T20I series. He has chosen Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw as his openers. Both were in good form for Delhi Capitals in IPL 2021. 

Manjrekar has chosen a pretty strong middle-order and has packed it with regular T20 players. Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Manish Pandey and Hardik Pandya are Manjrekar’s choices for number 3, 4, 5 and 6 in the middle-order. The former Indian batsman has chosen Kishan over Sanju Samson as he gives a left-handed option in the top six. 

Sanjay Manjrekar Picks Ishan Kishan Over Sanju Samson

“Ishan Kishan will be my wicket-keeper batsman and not Sanju Samson. I would like to give Ishan a go at No.4. Manish Pandey will be my No.5,” Sanjay Manjrekar told ESPNCricinfo.

Among the bowlers, Sanjay Manjrekat has gone ahead with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar and two other interesting selections in the playing XI. He has chosen Chetan Sakariya and Rahul Tewatia in his XI. Both the youngsters were impressive for Rajasthan Royals in the IPL and can use this tour to showcase their talent at the international level. Manjrekar has also backed Hardik to chip in with a couple of overs if required. 

Sanjay Manjrekar’s playing XI for Sri Lanka T20Is: Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandey, Rahul Tewatia, Chetan Sakariya, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar  

Also Read: India’s Tour Of Sri Lanka Revised To 3ODIs, 3 T20Is: Reports