Cricket News

Sanjay Manjrekar Names Test XI Of The Decade; Snubs Captain Virat Kohli

Manjrekar has picked Williamson over Kohli to lead his side.

Former Indian batsman Sanjay Manjrekar has made some interesting selections while picking his Test XI of the decade. To start with, he chose Kane Williamson over some like Virat Kohli as captain, who had a better decade than his Kiwi counterpart as captain of the team. Kohli became the captain of the Indian test team back in 2015 and has won 33 games while leading a total of 56 games till the last test match against Australia in Adelaide. He has just lost 13 games so far while maintaining a win percentage of 58.92.

Meanwhile, Manjrekar has made a few other interesting selections as well. He has picked David Warner as one of his specialist opener alongside Alastair Cook. Kohli, Stee Smith and Kane Williamson makes up his top 5. Williamson is also his skipper for the side.

Also Read: Shoaib Akhtar Slams ICC For Ignoring Pakistan Players In T20I XI Of The Decade

Sanjay Manjrekar Picks Kane Williamson over Virat Kohli As His Captain

He has picked Ben Stokes as his specialist all-rounder at number seven. In the process, he has ignored names like Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jason Holder and Shakib Al Hasan who have been key players for their respective national teams in the past decade.

Manjrekar has picked Kiwi gloveman, BJ Watling, as his specialist keeper at number seven. Here again, he has ignored names like Kumar Sangakkara, MS Dhoni who have played test cricket in the past decade. Manjrekar said that he picked Watling over someone like Sangakarra purely due to his numbers and that he plays most of his cricket in pace and swing conditions in New Zealand.

Pat Cummins, Trent Boult, James Anderson and Nathan Lyon are his specialist bowlers. Sanjay Manjrekar has ignored big names like Stuart Broad, Dale Steyn, Mitchell Starc and even Jasprit Bumrah, who has become the spearhead of the Indian bowling attack in a short space of time.

Sanjay Manjrekar’s Test XI Of The Last Decade

Alastair Cook, David Warner, Virat Kohli, Steven Smith, Kane Williamson (C), Ben Stokes.BJ Watling (WK), Pat Cummins, Trent Boult, James Anderson, Nathan Lyon.

Also Read: MS Dhoni Named Captain Of ICC’s ODI & T20 Team Teams Of The Decade

Anshuman Roy

A cricket and sports enthusiast having previously worked with Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint and now with Cricfit.

Related Articles

Back to top button
Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :